They Came For Me 2006

September 24, 2006 at 6:45 pm (My muthafuckin self, Politics)

Ganked and gaffles from pastor Martin Niemöller (1892-1984), his original poem explained why inaction during the Holocaust encourages people like Hitler and his Nazis. It’s been translated several times and adapted into songs. In several versions stanzas were left out and others were added (for instance, during the Red scare in the 50s, the verse about communism was removed) but here is the original poem, translated from German into English.

Original Poem
  When the Nazis came for the communist,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Why do I have this here? Becuase I made my own version. Just as the orignal spoke on how the silence of German intellectuals encouraged the Nazis, the silence of our youth and our intellectuals encourages the misdeeds of the current republican administration. You can read more about the original poem here. On a side note, a lot of American and English adaptations leave out communist and Social Democrats while adding in Catholics and Jews.  WOnder why that is?

Oh well, without further ado, They Came for Me 2006.

They came for the Arab/muslims er…oops, terrorists

iraqivictims.jpggitmo.jpg

I didn’t speak up becuase I was neither an Arab or a Muslim.

Next they came for the Immigrants.

immigrationrally-jh.jpg

I didn’ t speak up becuase I was born and raised in America.

Then they came for the gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transsexuals

gaylesbian.jpggaystraight.jpg

I didn’t speak up becuase I was straight.

Then they came for the Liberals.

antiwarprotests.jpg

I didn’t speak up becuase I didn’t know that participating in an anti-war rally and speaking out against Bush automatically makes you a liberal.
Then they came for the Intellectual Elitists.

intelllectuals-2005.jpg

I didn’t speak up becuase I don’t know what the hell that was supposed to mean.

Finally, they came for me.

By then, there was no one left to speak up for me.

Leave a Reply

